top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJihyoung Justin Do

An Olfactory Diary (Inspired by "Perfume")

TOP 10 SCENTS


1. Smell of Korean BBQ (I could identify it outside of the public when I was passing by Sorabol. I smelled Korean bulgogi, hot ginseng tea, and fresh kimchee) At the date April 27th at 3:06 PM. This reminded me of Korea(hometown) where in my baby town of Anyang, with my elementary friends, we would always go out and eat BBQ in the weekends.

2.Smell of Grass( I was outside warming up for my soccer game and I decided to lie down for a few seconds.) I smelled this on April 27th at 10:56 PM. When I smelled this, this brought me back to the moment I won my first international trophy with my club and at that time, I decided to fall in the thick grass in joy. I remembered it as itchy, soft, and everybody yelling for celebrations.

3.After the rain atmosphere( I was walking outside on a wet Sunday during Church service.) I smelled this on April 28th at 9:50PM. After smelling the beautiful nature smell, I smelled flowers combined with honey and Hawaiian Rain. This reminded me back when I was 5 years old when I experienced Hawaii rain for the first time in my life when I arrived at Hawaii from Korea to experience the Hawaiian experience.

4.Seawater (I was taking a swim at Ala Moana Beach Park) I smelled this on April 27th at 6:00 AM. I was taking an early swim to warm up my muscles and when I finally went out to catch my breath, I smelled the salt, coral, and the sand up my nostrils. This reminded me on my visit to LA where I was swimming in the beach and I experienced the same experience.

5. Chocolate (I was ordering my coffee in the morning after my swim from Ala Moana Beach) I smelled this on 7:00 AM. As I was ordering my coffee, I suddenly smelled the sudden aroma of coffee beans flushing in the coffee machine. The chocolate coffee was prepared and this reminded me of visiting the original Starbucks in Seattle and I enjoyed the scent.

6.Smell of Korean Wine (I identified it when my dad was taking a shot) I smelled this on April 27th in 6:57 PM. I smelled bitterness, and grapes. When I smelled the grapes, I suddenly thought of my Korean Grandfather because he owned a grape farm and I start to ponder about his health and life.

7. Smell of Korean Chicken (I was opening a box of chicken for dinner) I smelled chicken on April 27th in 6:30PM. I smelled the sweet sauce, crispy chicken, and the sweet cheese. After smelling, I remembered my vacation in Korea when I ordered chicken and I started to become homesick for my home country.

8. Scent of Axe( I was putting on deodorant) As I smelled the deodorant, I smelled flowers, bananas, and the vanilla. April 28th 8:00 AM. As soon I smelled the scent, I remembered the first cologne I bought, it smelled so bad that I just threw it out of the window.

9. Smell of pen ink. (I was bored and I decided to smell some ink) I was writing down something and I smelled something very unpleasant. I smelled this on April 28th 9:00PM. This ink smell reminded me when I was 6 years old, I decided to draw ink on the wall for no good reason and I wasn't thinking at that time.

10. Smell of Hand sanitizer (I needed to wash my hands and I only had hand sanitizer). I was using hand sanitizer to prepare myself for dinner. As I smelled the hand sanitizer, it smelled of aloe vera which brought back a memory of me being forced to put on aloe vera after getting sun burn all over my back. I scented this on April 28th 6:15PM.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Contact

808-772-3828

Follow

©2019 by JJ. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page