top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJihyoung Justin Do

Journal: Untranslatable Words "I have no words!"

Updated: Apr 22, 2019


I chose the word Itadakimasu where it specifically defines as 'Humbly receiving". In my family, we consider receiving as very respectful and we decide to give back by gifts or gratitude towards the giver. In a Korean society, this word intrigues me because there is not a lot of gratitude expressed when citizens give gifts to one another but they don't see the humbleness of the person inside of their minds. Every New Years, I would always receive gifts from my grandparents to wish me a healthy and strong year that I am facing. My parents would always tell me to give thanks so I don't anger the spirits towards my elders and my one and only god I worship in the family. Therefore, even if the gifts aren't that impressive, I learned to give gratitude to the person because what they give me symbolize the care they share to my spirit. I might incorporate this into my daily life if I forget the meanings of gratitude and if I am not impressed of what my friends would give me. For example, even if my cousin always slaps me in the face, I give gratitude to my cousin who is always playful and gets me on the right mood.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Olfactory Diary (Inspired by "Perfume")

TOP 10 SCENTS 1. Smell of Korean BBQ (I could identify it outside of the public when I was passing by Sorabol. I smelled Korean bulgogi, hot ginseng tea, and fresh kimchee) At the date April 27th at 3

Contact

808-772-3828

Follow

©2019 by JJ. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page